Yavuz Selim Bulvarı Şehit Refik Cesur cd. Ada sk. No:11 Ortahisar /Trabzon - TURKEY

Trabzon Información

Trabzon Province

Trabzon Province (Turkish: Trabzon ili) is a province of Turkey on the Black Sea coast. Located in a strategically important region, Trabzon is one of the oldest trade port cities in Anatolia. Neighbouring provinces are Giresun to the west, Gümüşhane to the southwest, Bayburt to the southeast and Rize to the east. The provincial capital is Trabzon city, and the traffic code is 61.The major ethnic groups are Turks,The province is home to a small community of Muslim Romeika-speakers, though younger speakers are not fluent in this language.


Province of Turkey
Location of Trabzon Province in Turkey
Country Turkey
Region East Black Sea
Subregion Trabzon
• Electoral district Trabzon
• Total 6,685 km2 (2,581 sq mi)
Population (2023)
• Total 824,352
• Density 110/km2 (300/sq mi)
Area code(s) 0462
Vehicle registration 61

Trabzon province is divided into 18 districts (capital district in bold):

Trabzon (Central district, after 2014 it will be named Ortahisar)
Akçaabat                                 Köprübaşı
Araklı                                       Maçka
Arsin                                        Of
Beşikdüzü                               Şalpazarı
Çarşıbaşı                                 Sürmene
Çaykara                                  Tonya
Dernekpazarı                        Vakfıkebir
Düzköy                                    Yomra

Districts along the 114 km coastline (from West to East): Beşikdüzü, Vakfıkebir, Çarşıbaşı, Akçaabat, Yomra, Arsin, Araklı, Sürmene and Of.
Districts inland: Tonya, Düzköy, Şalpazarı, Maçka, Köprübaşı, Dernekpazarı, Hayrat and Çaykara.

Beşikdüzü and Şalpazarı gained district status in 1988, Çarşıbaşı, Düzköy, Köprübaşı, Dernekpazarı and Hayrat in 1990.


Sümela Monastery on the Pontic Mountains, near Maçka

A traditional rural Pontic house in Livera village, Maçka district

Uzungöl village and lake in Çaykara

Another village in Çaykara

A traditional house in Çaykara
Remarkably attractive throughout its history, Trabzon was the subject of hundreds of travel books by western travellers, some of whom had named it “city of tale in the East” The capital city Trabzon was founded, as Trapezus, by Greek colonists from Sinope, modern Sinop, Turkey. Starting from the 9th century BC, the city had also been mentioned by historians such as Homeros, Herodotus, Hesiodos. The first written source regarding Trabzon is Anabasis, authored by Xenophon. An important Roman and Byzantine centre, it was the capital of the Empire of Trebizond from 1204 to 1461. Trabzon was subsequently made part of the Ottoman Empire by Mehmet the Conqueror. It was initially a sanjak before gaining the status of eyalet, and finally became a vilayet in 1868. After the region was conquered in 1461, the Fatih Medrese (1462), Hatuniye Medrese (1515), İskender Pasha Medrese (1529) and Hamza Pasha Medrese (1543) were established as important medreses (educational centers; some of them within külliye complexes) of the period.